Two Experiences, One Body

20 Jun

Next weekend I am presenting with my dear friend and colleague, Nettie Hartsock, at the annual Writers’ League of Texas Agents Conference. We’ll be talking about all things Web 2.0 as it relates to writers, and I am so pleased to have the opportunity to talk to colleagues and, of course, to attend the conference and expand my knowledge of the publishing industry. I went to this event last year and was so impressed not only by the quality, number and accessibility of the agents, but also at the incredible diversity and passion of the hundreds of writers in attendance. It was fuel for my creative spirit, and an enormous inspiration to my writing practice.

226amma03_FamilyHugBut truth be told, I was also looking forward to seeing Amma in Dallas next weekend. Each summer she tours the U.S. giving Darshan and hugging every last one of us dirty, anxious, helpless souls. It would have been glorious, but to be among writers and connecting with people in my community is my urgent call this year. I will see her next year, or perhaps make the sort of leaps and bounds in my life that will take me and my family to India to see her. Who knows? Go see Amma this summer… and give her big hugs from me. In the meantime, here’s a little pick-me-up with this idea of two experiences, one body! Have a great Saturday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

