The Gift of Clarity… from Big Sister

2 Jul

Christine Mason Miller

My birthday was last month and my big sister Marisa couldn’t get up here to celebrate. She was busy getting ready for a business trip and preparing for a big trip to Puerto Rico with her family. I miss her sometimes, but I’m glad that I have an amazing group of  “sisters” that I meet with once a week to talk about matters of the heart and soul.

This week we talked about the power of meditation and prayer, as well as the definition of happiness. Is happiness the same thing as joy, gratitude, authenticity? We wrote about it a bit and there was a magical consensus of sorts. Happiness is about a return to your true self, and the power of that self exists in each moment. Wherever you are.

So yesterday my father delivered a present from my sister. It’s an art collage with writing created by Christine Mason Miller. It reads:

“The deepest joy exists in those rare instances of CLARITY when there is no wanting, no yearning, no clinging to some idealized life we believe exists somewhere other than exactly where we are.”

I love it when themes emerge. Don’t you?

2 Responses to “The Gift of Clarity… from Big Sister”

  1. Sonya Feher July 9, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Happiness.

  2. Pamela Villars July 13, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

    I just found this. Perfect. It’s that serendipity again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

