Flippin’ Cool Flippy Books

My son loves to read. When I say “read” what I really mean is that he’s not quite two but loves to look at books, get books, have books read to him or pretend to be a grown-up and sit in his little easy chair curled up with a book. So when I got “Flippy and Toadpole” written by John Mese and Dawn Kelsey and illustrated by Chanler Holden, I was excited (Part of the Flippy and Friends network of awesomeness). New book, new chance to get cute kid reaction– good or bad. So I put the reviewing of the book in little Ben’s hands. I got it out, he grabbed it, examined it and handed it back to me. After the first reading, he said “Again!”— three times. The book was a hit. It’s quirky, sing-songy and with adorable, friendly, wide-eyed characters with poppy names. Big hit. Then I broke out a review copy of “Flippy Goes on a Road Trippy” (coming out in January) and Ben, well, flippy-ed out. This one was long, with lyrical rhymes describing an exciting cross-country road trip with friends including Crawdaddy, Eartha and others. He actually paid attention through the whole book, which reads for kids a little older than him. He loved scanning the pages filled with exciting animals, landscapes and cars and wanted me to read it to him twice more. Success! I love these books and they’re very cool and hip but with the mind of a child at the center of the narratives. Flippy Fantasteriffy.

Leave a Reply

